Black History Month: Mahershala Ali

mahershala-ali

I recently watched Luke Cage on Netflix and loved it. A character that I thought was portrayed was Cottonmouth played by Mahershala Ali. I thought his acting for this character was on point and I couldn’t get enough. He appeared on things like House of Cards and the Hunger Games Mocking jay Part 2.

He recently won his first SAG award for his performance in Moonlight. When receiving this award, he gave a speech about the role he played and how it affected him. He talked about inclusion and acceptance of all. His speech was moving and I was almost in tears. I am so happy he won a SAG award and I know this isn’t the last that we will see of him. He is one of those faces that you will continue to see on screen. I am excited to see what he will do next.

I want to say thank you to Mahershala Ali for your speech and your presence on television. Seeing representation of all cultures and people in television is important and influential to the people who watch it.

If you enjoyed this post, please like below. If there is a show I haven’t watched that you want me to check out, please leave it in the comments … And The Show Must Go On.

Photo from: thewrap.com

Leave a Reply

